Castell’Arquato, Italy – Discovering Medieval Hills

Castell’Arquato is a small medieval hamlet situated in Piacenza’s province, in Emilia Romagna. It is not far from my house and I have often been there, for two reasons:

  1. The town is in a beautiful hill area, full of Medieval castles, mills, fields and nature.
  2. During the summer, there are lots of festivals and celebrations organised in the district. Since me and my family do antiques and vintage markets, we travel trough all of these places to sell our merchandise.

It is exactly for this motivation I have discovered Castell’Arquato when I was a child and I accompanied my dad to several markets in the nearby villages like Cortemaggiore (where every first Sunday of the month they have a vintage and antique market). With my Dad I have traveled through the whole region far and wide and I am still enjoying doing it!

7447494514_4548735fb5_k
Photo Credit: Alessandro

My favourite monument  is La Collegiata, a church built in 758 and still preserved. Other magnificent buildings also dominate the hamlet, such as the Fortress, the Podestà Palace, and the Walls.

2924303390_5ffdae215f_b
Photo Credit: Flickr/Fabcom

This season is the best to visit the town. My suggestion is to stop for lunch in one of the numerous restaurants, ordering a plate of Pisarei e faśö (breadcrumbs and flour gnocchi with beans in red sauce). It is a typical plate and I am sure you won’t be disappointed!

Featured Photo Credit: Andrea Lodi

Leave a Reply

